See photos and portfolios of the new service chiefs


President Buhari this afternoon bowed to pressure and sacked all his service chiefs. The sacked service chiefs were appointed in 2015 .

In a statement released this afternoon by Femi Adesina, Special Adviser to the president on media, the president thanks the outgoing service chiefs for their dedication in securing the country.


Read also: Why hasn’t Buhari change Service Chiefs long after their tenures have expired


President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.
Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.


President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.
The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media and Publicity)
January 26, 2021

See photos and portfolios of the new service chiefs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here